16th Annual General Meeting

ASMET, The Association of Small and Medium Enterprises in Tourism held its 16th Annual General Meeting on the 11th of September 2023 at the Sri Lanka Institute of Tourism auditorium. Mr. Rohan Abeywickrema took over the chair as the President and a dynamic body of senior members was elected including Ms Renuka Jayamanne as Senior Vice President, Mr. Prebbuda Jayasinghe and Mr.Devmith Kaggodarachchi as Vice Presidents and Mr. Sampath Mendis as General Secretary. Mr. Susantha Wimalendra was appointed as the Treasurer and Mr. Kumar Sithambaran was appointed as the Assistant Secretary to the association.
The president Mr. Rohan Abeywickrema in his address to the members invited the members to engage with him and the association to discuss the grievances faced by many in the SME community. He pledged to work together will all to bring these issues to light and find solutions for the industry.
Founder and past president Mr. Suresh De Mel declared that ASMET was established to give a voice to the voiceless and that the members should actively participate to bring about change for the SME sector which is still largely unrecognized in its contribution towards the tourism industry.
The AGM was well attended and with many members wishing the newly elected committee the very best in their efforts to develop and resolve the myriad of issues facing the SME businesses in tourism

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *